Rohit, 29, works in a Bengaluru BPO. His salary lands on the last working day of the month. His ₹4,200 EMI to a loan app debits on the 1st, via UPI AutoPay he set up at disbursal.
In April his employer ran payroll a day late. The AutoPay hit his account at 06:47 on 1 May, found ₹0, and bounced. Rohit topped up the account by 11:00 the same day. He assumed the AutoPay would retry; it did not. By the time he opened the app a week later, the dues had grown to ₹6,180:
- EMI principal + interest: ₹4,200
- "Bounce charge": ₹590
- "Late fee": ₹500
- "Penal interest @ 36% per annum": ₹190
- GST on charges: ₹196
- App service charge: ₹504
₹1,980 in extras for a one-day cash-flow gap, on a loan whose disclosed APR was 24%. When he called the app, the agent told him to "pay the full amount or face CIBIL reporting on the 31st day". When he refused, the calls started — three a day, then ten, then twenty.
If you are in Rohit's spot right now, this is the article you needed yesterday. RBI changed the penal-charge rules in 2023, the NPCI AutoPay rulebook was updated in 2024, and almost no loan app has fully complied. Most of what they stacked on Rohit's account is reversible — but only if you know which numbers to challenge and which letters to send, in which order, within which windows.
What just happened to you
UPI AutoPay (NPCI's e-mandate over UPI) and eNACH (the older, bank-based mandate) are standing instructions. You authorised the lender, once, to pull a fixed amount on a fixed date. When the pull fails, three separate things happen at three separate places — and your loan app collapses them into one "you bounced, pay up" narrative that hides the real breakdown.
At NPCI / your bank. The mandate is presented. The bank tries to debit. If the balance is short, the request is returned with a reason code (most commonly Z9 — funds insufficient). NPCI charges the collecting bank exactly nothing on a failed presentation. Your bank, internally, may book a notional cost of ₹15–₹40 to cover staff time. That is the true cost of your bounce. Anything above it is the lender's choice.
At the lender. The lender's loan management system flags the EMI unpaid and walks through their charge schedule. Almost every loan app's schedule looks the same:
- A "bounce charge" or "mandate failure charge" of ₹350–₹750
- A "late payment fee" of ₹300–₹600 that triggers on day 1
- A daily "penal interest" of 0.10–0.15% on the outstanding EMI
- GST at 18% on every charge above
- Optionally a "convenience fee" or "app fee" of ₹200–₹500
At CIBIL. Nothing happens for 30 days. CIBIL reporting cycles are monthly; the lender reports DPD (Days Past Due) as of month-end. A 1-day delay does not touch your score. A 30-day delay reports as DPD 30 and drops your score 40–80 points.
The lender weaponises the gap between (2) — same-day charges piling on — and (3) — bureau impact 30 days later — to scare you into paying the inflated amount immediately. You do not have to. You have a full billing cycle to pay the correct amount and protect your score.
What the rule actually says
There are four documents you should know exist. You do not have to read any of them — the bullet points below extract everything that matters to your bounced EMI.
1. RBI penal-charge circular, 18 August 2023 (effective 1 April 2024)
Titled Fair Lending Practice — Penal Charges in Loan Accounts, this is the rule the entire payday-loan industry quietly hates. The relevant paragraphs in plain English:
- Penal interest is banned. Lenders cannot charge a percentage of principal as a "penalty". They can only charge a flat "penal charge" whose amount and trigger event are disclosed in the Key Fact Statement (KFS) at the time of sanction.
- No compounding. The penal charge cannot be added to principal for the purpose of calculating future interest. Day-2's interest is on day-1's principal, not on (principal + penalty).
- No GST workaround. Lenders cannot use GST or "service tax" as a hidden penalty multiplier.
- Reasonable and proportionate. Penal charges must be "reasonable and commensurate with the non-compliance" and "non-discriminatory within a homogeneous group of loans". A ₹500 penalty on a ₹4,200 EMI for a one-day delay fails this test on its face.
- Disclosure. Every penal charge must appear in the KFS, the loan agreement, the lender's website, and every reminder notice.
If your app statement shows "Penal interest @ 36% p.a." for any period after 1 April 2024 — that line item is illegal. You can demand a refund for it without negotiating.
2. NPCI UPI AutoPay Procedural Guidelines, v3.4 (December 2024)
The rules that govern the mandate itself:
- A mandate may be presented up to 3 times per cycle. Each presentation is a debit attempt, not a separate transaction for fee purposes.
- The mandate is revocable by the payer at any time via the issuer bank's app. No reason required. Revocation is effective from the next presentation.
- The collecting bank (lender's bank) is charged ₹0 by NPCI on a failed mandate. Any "interchange fee" the lender quotes you is not a real cost.
- Notification is mandatory. The payer must receive a notification 24 hours before the debit. If you did not get the notification, the mandate execution itself is irregular.
3. RBI Master Direction on Digital Lending, September 2022 (updated April 2025)
- All charges, including bounce and late fees, must be in the KFS. No KFS line, no enforceable charge.
- The cooling-off period of 3 days lets you exit any digital loan with no charge except the proportional APR for days used. If you are within 3 days of disbursal, your AutoPay fight may be moot — just exit. See our cooling-off guide.
- Recovery agent rules (Annex II): no contact outside 08:00–19:00, no abusive language, no contact with relatives/employer except for address verification.
4. RBI Harmonisation of TAT for failed transactions, 20 September 2019
- A bank must resolve a UPI mandate dispute within 7 working days.
- Failing which, the bank pays the customer ₹100 per day of delay as compensation, credited automatically.
- This applies whether or not you escalate to the Ombudsman.
The math on Rohit's bounce
Let us decompose Rohit's ₹1,980 of extras and mark what is legal in 2026, what is borderline, and what is a straight refund.
| Charge | Amount | Status | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bounce charge | ₹590 | Borderline | Legal if in KFS and ≤ actual bank cost (~₹40). ₹590 is ~14× cost — refund the excess. |
| Late fee | ₹500 | Borderline | Legal only if KFS-disclosed and proportional. Day-1 ₹500 on ₹4,200 = 12%. Fails the proportionality test. |
| Penal interest @ 36% p.a. | ₹190 | Illegal | Banned after 1 April 2024. Full refund. |
| GST on charges | ₹196 | Pass-through | If the base charges drop, GST drops proportionally. Recalculate. |
| App service charge | ₹504 | Illegal | Not disclosed in KFS. Full refund. |
Honest reversible total on a single bounced EMI: roughly ₹1,250. Combine that with 20 calls a day and you start to understand why the app economy can lend at 24% APR headline and still earn 60%+ effective — the post-disbursal "fees" are the real business model.
If you want the long version with worked numbers across 5 missed EMIs, see our true-APR explainer and run your own loan through the Sahi Rate calculator — it surfaces the post-bounce trajectory most apps hide.
Your 24-hour action plan
The window matters. Do these in order, today, before the lender's system books the next penalty cycle tomorrow.
Hour 0–2: Stop the bleeding
- Top up the account to cover the EMI only — not the penalties. Pay the lender the EMI amount via IMPS or UPI to the same account listed in the loan agreement (find it in the disbursal SMS or app statement). Note the UTR.
- Revoke the mandate. In your bank app: UPI → Mandate → Active → the lender's mandate → Revoke. Some banks call this "Pause" or "Stop". Take a screenshot of the revocation confirmation.
- Email the lender within 2 hours: "EMI for [month] paid by IMPS, UTR [xxx], on [time]. Mandate revoked. Future EMIs will be paid manually." This single email moves you from "defaulter" to "current borrower paying via alternate channel".
Hour 2–6: Pull the evidence
- Download the app's account statement for the loan. Most apps hide this under Profile → Loan details → Statement. If it is not downloadable, screenshot every charge line with date and amount.
- Pull your bank statement for the day of the failed AutoPay. Screenshot showing balance was sufficient by the time the lender would have retried (most lenders skip retry).
- Save the KFS. It was sent to your email on disbursal day. If you cannot find it, request it under the RBI Digital Lending rules — the lender must provide it within 7 days.
Hour 6–24: Send the demand letter
- Send the refund-demand template (below) to the lender's grievance email (always present in the app's Contact section) with CC to the Nodal Officer. Set a 15-day deadline.
- File the UPI mandate dispute with your bank for any wrongful debit that did go through (some apps debit the bounce fee separately via the same mandate — that is itself irregular).
Templates you can copy
Refund-demand letter to the lender
To: grievance@[lender].com CC: nodalofficer@[lender].com Subject: Refund of penal charges — Loan [account number] — EMI [month]
Dear Grievance Officer,
- I hold loan account [number] sanctioned on [date] for ₹[amount].
- The EMI for [month] was paid in full via IMPS on [date], UTR [xxx]. The earlier UPI AutoPay presentation failed due to a payroll timing issue and was corrected within hours.
- Your statement of account dated [date] reflects the following charges, which I dispute as detailed below:
- Penal interest @ 36% p.a. of ₹[amount]: prohibited by RBI circular DOR.MCS.REC.28/01.01.001/2023-24 dated 18 August 2023 (effective 1 April 2024). Refund in full.
- "App service charge" of ₹[amount]: not disclosed in the Key Fact Statement issued on [date]. Refund in full.
- Bounce charge of ₹[amount]: payable only to the extent of actual cost (~₹40 per NPCI guidelines). Refund excess of ₹[amount].
- GST of ₹[amount]: recompute on the corrected base and refund the pro-rata excess.
- I have revoked the UPI mandate. All future EMIs will be paid manually by IMPS within the EMI cycle.
- Please process the refund of ₹[total] within 15 days to my account [account number]. Failing which I will escalate to (a) your Nodal Officer, (b) the RBI Sachet portal, (c) the Banking Ombudsman, and (d) the Consumer Forum, seeking the refund plus compensation under the RBI Fair Practices Code.
Yours faithfully, [Name, contact, loan account number]
Bank UPI-mandate dispute (in-app text)
Mandate [UMN] presented on [date]; debit was made even after I revoked the mandate on [date]. Request reversal under RBI TAT Harmonisation, 20 September 2019. Compensation @ ₹100/day applies from the 8th day.
HR email if the lender contacts your employer
Dear [HR],
I have been informed that [lender] contacted [HR/your manager] about my personal loan. Under the RBI Fair Practices Code (Master Direction on Digital Lending, September 2022, Annex II), lenders cannot contact a borrower's employer except for one-time address verification. Any further contact is harassment and is being formally complained at the RBI Sachet portal.
Please disregard any such communication. I will provide proof of EMI payment status on request, but the company is not obligated to respond to or facilitate the lender's recovery.
Where this usually goes wrong
After tracking several hundred bounce-fee complaints through our Heyz assistant and the SahiSujhav community, the same six mistakes recur. Avoid all of them.
1. Paying the inflated amount "to get them off my back". The moment you pay the full inflated dues, your refund leverage drops by 80%. Lenders will tell you to "pay first and we will refund the excess later". That refund almost never comes. Pay only the EMI amount manually, dispute the rest in writing.
2. Not revoking the mandate. The lender will simply represent the mandate the day your next salary lands, scoop the inflated dues, and you are back to square one. Revoke today.
3. Writing emotional, threatening, or sarcastic emails. The grievance officer is a salaried employee following a script. A calm, factual letter that cites the circular by number outperforms a thousand angry calls. Save your anger for the Ombudsman if it comes to that.
4. Ignoring the KFS. The Key Fact Statement is your strongest weapon. Half of what apps charge is not in the KFS at all. Read it. Compare every statement line to it. Anything not listed = refund claim.
5. Believing the "we will report you to CIBIL today" threat. CIBIL reporting is monthly, after the 30-day DPD threshold. Same-day threats are illegal under the FPC (which bars false statements made to influence repayment). Document the threat — it is itself a complaint ground.
6. Letting the WhatsApp calls dictate behaviour. Once you have sent the refund letter and paid the EMI, you are in a legally defensible position. The calls are noise. Silence the number, save the call logs (Truecaller, native phone log), and respond only to the grievance officer in writing. If calls escalate to threats or contact with family, follow our recovery-call playbook and the contact-scraping guide.
When to escalate
The grievance officer has 15 working days under the RBI Integrated Ombudsman Scheme. The clock starts the day they acknowledge your complaint (most apps acknowledge by email within 24 hours; if not, screenshot the "delivered" status of your email — that counts).
Day 16: File at the RBI Sachet portal at sachet.rbi.org.in. Attach the original grievance email, the lender's response (or evidence of non-response), the KFS, and the disputed statement. Sachet routes the complaint to the lender's regulator (RBI for NBFCs, the partnered bank for many fintech apps) and assigns a tracking number. Median resolution time is 28 days. See our step-by-step Sachet guide.
Day 45 (if unresolved): File with the RBI Integrated Banking Ombudsman at cms.rbi.org.in. This is the regulator-with-teeth tier. The Ombudsman can order refund plus compensation up to ₹20 lakh. No lawyer needed; the process is online and free. Our Ombudsman walkthrough covers the exact form fields.
Day 90 (if needed): Consumer Forum under the Consumer Protection Act 2019. District forum jurisdiction up to ₹50 lakh, filing fee ₹200, no lawyer mandatory. Compensation for "deficiency of service" plus litigation costs. For amounts under ₹10,000, the lender almost always settles before the first hearing — the cost of defending exceeds the disputed sum.
Parallel track if harassment is criminal: abusive calls, threats, morphed images, contact with relatives — file at cybercrime.gov.in and call 112 immediately. Do not wait for the financial dispute to resolve. The two tracks run independently.
A note on "top-up" offers after a bounce
Within 48 hours of a bounce, expect a notification: "Pay just ₹999 to restructure your loan and avoid CIBIL impact." Or "Take a top-up of ₹10,000 to clear pending dues — instant approval."
Both are traps.
The ₹999 "restructure" is usually a re-amortisation that adds a fresh processing fee, resets your tenure, and bakes the disputed penalties into the new principal. You lose your refund claim the moment you sign.
The top-up "to clear dues" is the classic rollover trap. You now owe the original loan and the top-up, both compounding. The lender's only goal is to push your repayment past the next cycle so they can book another month of fees.
Do not accept either offer until your refund is processed in writing. A genuine restructure is a written offer on lender letterhead with a revised KFS, not a one-tap button in an app.
Special case: salaried borrower whose company runs late
Rohit's bounce was caused by a late payroll. This is so common we should address it directly.
- Move the EMI date. Most lenders allow a one-time EMI date change via the app. Move it to the 7th — five days after typical payroll — to absorb late-payroll risk.
- Keep a 1-EMI buffer in the AutoPay account. Not in your savings account — in the exact account the mandate hits. ₹4,200 sitting there beats ₹40,000 sitting in your other bank.
- Use a current account or a salary account with overdraft. Many salary accounts ship with a small overdraft (typically ₹10k–₹25k) that auto-covers shortfalls at 14–18% — far cheaper than a bounce.
- Set a calendar reminder for the day before the EMI date. A 60-second balance check the night before saves the entire ₹1,250 ordeal.
The bigger pattern
Bounce fees, late fees, and penal interest are the loan-app industry's second business — and the one with the higher margin. A 24% APR loan earns ~₹500 a month on a ₹25,000 ticket. A single bounce cycle earns ₹1,500–₹2,000 on the same account, in 24 hours, with no marginal cost to the lender.
That is why apps make AutoPay frictionless to set up, never remind you the day before the debit, never auto-retry on the day of failure, and pop up "restructure" offers within 90 minutes of the bounce. Each of these design choices is an active revenue lever.
Knowing this changes how you behave. Once you stop seeing the bounce as your failure and start seeing it as the lender's monetisation event, you stop paying the inflated dues and start writing the refund letter. The shame the WhatsApp calls weaponise is not earned — it is engineered.
If you want help drafting your specific refund letter with your loan's actual KFS line items, our Heyz assistant can read your loan statement and produce a tailored draft in 30 seconds. If you want a second opinion on whether your EMI's base rate is itself fair, run the loan through Sahi Rate — half the borrowers who land on this page discover their APR was misrepresented at sanction, which opens a separate, larger refund claim.
Bounce once, lose ₹1,200. Learn the rules once, never lose ₹1,200 again.